I asked a fellow foodie-on-the-rise and marketing consultant expert Sara Pereira, Owner of Sara Pereira: Marketing & Communications to indulge our readers in her favorite foods.

A Vancouver-based boutique marketing and communications firm, Sara offers a full range of services including public and media relations, marketing management, event planning and sponsorship, strategic planning, and brand development. Sara and her team work closely and on a personal basis with clients to provide creative and effective strategies for their business. As Sara puts it “The Scoop: Our business allows us to get to know a range of people, stories and businesses across industries. We love to identify company’s messages and then help them get those messages out into the world in the most creative way possible.”

Sara Pereira ~ Marketing Expert
Is there a certain food or dish that reminds you of home?

My background is Portuguese and I grew up in a small northern town in BC with a large community of Portuguese people. Anything with the flavours and smells of Portuguese food reminds me of family gatherings and being at home. Simple fresh breads and cheeses as well as fresh garden greens remind me of my grandmother’s home. Paprika, kale and any kind of seafood are familiar favourites for me.

What is your favourite comfort food?

My comfort foods are fresh breads and cheeses. Let us not forget about the ultimate, however, ice cream and chocolate. I am particularly picky with these two favourites however, and appreciate high quality chocolate and only the best ice cream. Even as a child, I never really liked the cheap stuff with the wooden stick for a spoon!

Is there one thing you can’t live without in your kitchen?

Fresh herbs and spices. What a treat that we live with the most fragrant and flavorful herbs and spices at our finger tips. The possibilities, combinations and flavour adventures are endless! A close second, would be high quality extra virgin olive oil.

What are you having for dinner tonight?

Italian food – tonight, I dining with my grandfather at the newest addition to the Glowbal Group of Restaurants, Trattoria Italian Kitchen. I am looking forward to the bruschetta, which has come highly recommended.

Is there one food that gives you the heebie jeebies?

I cannot eat ground meat. It has been this way since I was a small child. Something about the texture just doesn’t jive for me. As you can imagine this makes any sort of dinner party, birthday or bbq quite difficult. No hamburgers, spaghetti and meatballs or lasagna for me!

